1 800 222 6872

Beethoven: Cantata on the Death of Emperor Joseph II; Cantata on the Accession of Emperor Leopold II / Judith Howarth, Janice Watson, Jean Rigby, John Mark Ainsley, José Van Dam

Notes & Reviews:

This mid-priced reissue features Beethoven choral works sung by the Corydon Singers and Matthew Best. It includes the composer's famous Opferlied, here performed beautifully by Jean Rigby in the version for soprano, choir and orchestra. Also featured are two rarely performed and fascinating early works, the Cantatas to mark the death of Joseph II and the accession of his brother Leopold II.

Gramophone Magazine
A great joy … a fervour of sustained inspiration. A disc which, given the chance, is likely to prove itself the quarter’s best investment.

The Penguin Guide
Arguably Beethoven’s first major masterpiece... superb performance, at once fresh and incisive and deeply moving.

The Daily Telegraph
It’s always wonderful to come across some unfamiliar piece and relish unsuspected, undiscovered beauties … Hyperion’s enterprising disc of two early cantatas is thoroughly to be recommended. A marvellous disc.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased