1 800 222 6872

Tchaikovsky: Violin Concerto; Arensky: Quartet no.2 / Philippe Quint, Sofia PO, Panteleev (cond.), Lily Francis, Claudio Bohorquez, Nicholas Altstaedt

Album Summary

>Tchaikovsky, Peter Ilyich : Concerto for Violin in D major, Op. 35
>Arensky, Anton [Composer] : Quartet for Strings no 2 in A minor, Op. 35
Performers Conductor Ensemble Composers

Notes & Reviews:

American Record Guide, November/December 2014
Above all is the atmosphere that pervades every note of this performance. It's not merely the use of two cellos instead of two violins that creates the dark elegiac mood but the quality of instruments combined with the players' artistry. This is especially true of the viola - its bright, clear timbre comes not merely from its higher tessitura. And all this is made possible by warm, rich, full-range, and superbly balanced engineering. By comparision, the Ying Quartet remain purely on the surface of this magnificent work. Avanti is a new label based in Brussels, and have they set their standards high with this recording!

Celebrated American violinist Philippe Quint is back with an outstanding new release in a unique pairing of Tchaikovsky's popular Violin Concerto in D major, Op. 35 together with Arensky's seldom recorded String Quartet No. 2 in A minor, Op. 35 (dedicated to the memory of Tchaikovsky). For the very first time, the last movement of the Concerto is presented twice on CD: once in Tchaikovsky's original scoring and, as a bonus track, the controversially condensed version of the third movement by Leopold Auer.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Tchaikovsky, Peter Ilyich : Concerto for Violin in D major, Op. 35
  • Conductor: Martin Panteleev
  • Ensemble: Sofia Philharmonic Orchestra
  • Notes: Bulgaria Hall, Sofia (01/14/2013-01/17/2013)
  • Running Time: 45 min. 18 sec.
  • Period Time: Romantic
  • Form: Concerto
  • Written: 1878

>Arensky, Anton [Composer] : Quartet for Strings no 2 in A minor, Op. 35
  • Performers: Nicolas Altstaedt (Cello); Claudio Bohórquez (Cello); Lily Francis (Viola)
  • Running Time: 28 min. 14 sec.
  • Period Time: Romantic
  • Written: 1894