1 800 222 6872

Callas Remastered - Puccini: Tosca (rec. 1953) / Maria Callas; Giuseppe di Stefano, Tito Gobbi, Franco Calabrese, et al.; Coro e Orchestra del Teatro alla Scala di Milano; Victor de Sabata

Album Summary

>Puccini, Giacomo : Tosca
Performers Conductor Ensemble Composer

Notes & Reviews:

Maria Callas's complete discography (for the first time joining her EMI Classics and Warner Classics recordings) has been remastered and re-released across a broad product suite, including a deluxe complete box set, individual recordings, a compilation, two vinyl releases and a digital product suite. This album is just one of the 26 complete operas remastered for this release. CALLAS REMASTERED: The Complete Studio Recordings. All of the recordings have been painstakingly remastered at Abbey Road Studios, using the original tapes, and the entire collection has been curated with the greatest care. When opera lovers consider important recordings, this 1953 recording of Tosca almost always comes to mind. It is widely regarded as one of the best opera recordings of the twentieth century. Conducted by Victor de Sabata, this performance by Callas, Tito Gobbi (Scarpia) and Giuseppe di Stefano (Cavaradossi) was released to critical acclaim and has continued to be praised throughout the years by singers and critics alike.

Notes & Reviews:

Recording information: Teatro alla Scala, Milan (08/10/1953-08/21/1953).


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Puccini, Giacomo : Tosca
  • Performers: Franco Calabrese (Bass); Giuseppe Di Stefano; Melchiorre Luise (Bass)
  • Conductor: Victor De Sabata
  • Ensemble: Coro e Orchestra del Teatro alla Scala di Milano
  • Notes: Teatro alla Scala, Milan (08/10/1953-08/21/1953)
  • Running Time: 37 min. 37 sec.
  • Period Time: Post Romantic
  • Form: Opera/Operetta
  • Written: 1900