1 800 222 6872

Alkan: Cello Sonata Op. 47; Liszt: Élégie I & II, La lugubre gondola, Romance oubliée, Die Zelle in Nonnenwerth / Emmanuelle Bertrand, cello; Pascal Amoyel, piano

Notes & Reviews:

This collection of works for cello and piano performed by Emmanuelle Bertrand and Pascal Amoyel features works by two illustrious nineteenth-century pianists, Charles-Valentin Alkan and Franz Liszt, generally associated with a style founded on transcendental virtuosity. Yet both the late works of Liszt, with their funereal and elegiac character, and the splendid Cello Sonata that Alkan wrote in the middle years of the century, reflect a shared ideal of purified expression and a poetic vision of instrumental music.

BBC Music Magazine, November 2014
A feast of beautifully sensitive cello and piano playing. Placed between Liszt's haunting late pieces, Alkan's overlong Sonata has moments to savour.

MusicWeb International, September 2014
We are treated to soberingly elemental sounds under the deft musicianship of Bertrand and Amoyel ... With an admixture of technical precision, brio and steady resonance, French cellist Bertrand leaves us awash in colour and texture...this is a refreshing collection where the virtuosity of composers and performers is met with disarming humility.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased