1 800 222 6872

Tchaikovsky: Symphony No. 6 / Vienna SO; Jordan

Album Summary

>Tchaikovsky, Peter Ilyich : Symphony no 6 in B minor ("Pathétique"), Op. 74
Conductor Ensemble Composer

Notes & Reviews:

December 14, 2013: A recording session in the Golden Hall of the Vienna Society of the Friends of Music marks the dawn of a new era for the Wiener Symphoniker. The history of this traditional Viennese orchestra is filled with 282 celebrated performances of P. I. Tchaikovsky's Pathétique. And now the orchestra's new chief conductor Philippe Jordan will show what he's made of by interpreting this highly significant work. The orchestra's intense involvement with Tchaikovsky's Sixth began in 1903 with the legendary Russian conductor Vasily Safonov and the previous ensemble, the Wiener Concertverein.

Notes & Reviews:

Recording information: Musikverein, Vienna (12/14/2013-12/15/2013).


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Works Details

>Tchaikovsky, Peter Ilyich : Symphony no 6 in B minor ("Pathétique"), Op. 74
  • Conductor: Armin Jordan
  • Ensemble: Vienna Symphony Orchestra
  • Notes: Musikverein, Vienna (12/14/2013-12/15/2013)
  • Running Time: 45 min. 44 sec.
  • Period Time: Romantic
  • Form: Orchestral
  • Written: 1893