1 800 222 6872

Thierry Lancino (b.1954): Violin Concerto; Prelude and Death of Virgil / Isabelle Faust, violin; Matteo de Monti, baritone; Luxembourg PO; Tamayo

Album Summary

>Lancino, Thierry : Concerto for Violin
>Lancino, Thierry : Prelude and Death of Virgil, for baritone & orchestra
Performers Conductors Ensemble
  • >

Notes & Reviews:

Thierry Lancino's background includes extensive periods of research at IRCAM and elsewhere, but his recent work concentrates on a lyrical and bold freedom of style embracing ideas of both seduction and spirituality. Inspired by a scene of historical impact, his Prelude and Death of Virgil dramatizes the demise of a daunting genius. Lancino writes of his Violin Concerto that his imagination was fired by 'the thought of a little piece of wood (in reality a 1704 Stradivarius),played by Isabelle Faust, confronting a gigantic machine (the full orchestra)'. Thierry Lancino's Requiem (Naxos 8.572771) was described as 'exhilarating' by BBC Music Magazine.

American Record Guide, January/February 2015
Thierry Lancino's violin concerto (2005) and Prelude and Death of Virgil (2000) are world premiere recordings. Soloists and orchestras are convincing. Lancino has spent time researching at Boulez's IRCAM.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Lancino, Thierry : Concerto for Violin
  • Performer: Isabelle Faust (Violin)
  • Conductor: Arturo Tamayo
  • Running Time: 34 min. 7 sec.
  • Period Time: Contemporary
  • Form: Concerto
  • Written: 2005

>Lancino, Thierry : Prelude and Death of Virgil, for baritone & orchestra
  • Performer: Matteo de Monti (Bass)
  • Conductor: Gerard Schwarz
  • Running Time: 24 min. 54 sec.
  • Period Time: Contemporary
  • Written: 2000