1 800 222 6872

Prokofiev: Piano Sonatas No. 2 & 8; Romeo and Juliet; Shotakovich: Preludes Op. 34

Notes & Reviews:

One is awestruck by Berman's monumental pianism. His touch is alternately light and tender and then thundering as the needs of the music vary ... He seems to instil more insight into the performance of this music than do orchestras, something that seems impossible. The Allegro and Andante movements seem almost neo-Romantic in his hands and yet are not distorted. The final Vivace becomes a real tour de force that leaves one breathless.

Gramophone Magazine
I warm to this [version] in particular for the way Berman seeks out the freshness of colour and the lyricism ... His refusal to gabble the quick movements or to ginger them up with an excess of virtuoso agitation, as so many pianists do, is indeed refreshing. I need hardly add that his performance is nothing if not a virtuoso one all the same.

BBC Music Magazine, Christmas 2014
Lazar Berman's Prokofiev has a penetrating focus and crisp articulation, The Russian pianist's Romeo and Juliet pieces are superbly characterised and the playing is beautifully delicate.

Classical Music
A welcome demonstration of titanic technique put solely at the service of the music. Oddly, Berman plays just nine of the ten pieces Prokofiev transcribed from Romeo and Juliet: nevertheless, this is unmissable.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review