1 800 222 6872

C. Franck; R. Strauss: Sonatas for Violin and Piano / Arabella Steinbacher, violin; Robert Kulek, piano

Album Summary

>Franck, César : Sonata for Violin and Piano in A major, M 8
>Strauss, Richard : Sonata for Violin and Piano in E flat major, Op. 18
Performers Composers

Notes & Reviews:

Violinist Arabella Steinbacher and pianist Robert Kulek continue their vital collaboration together with a new Pentatone release: César Franck's Sonata for Piano and Violin in A coupled with Richard Strauss' Sonata for Violin and Piano in E-flat, Op. 18. While Franck's violin sonata is epic in character, Strauss' work is full of jovial energy, hope and anticipation, a stimulating fusion of elements for these musicians. Both artists possess superb technique. Ms. Steinbacher often demonstrates a delicate yet fiery touch in her playing, while Mr. Kulek's resolute intonation, steadfast tempi and broad dynamics are his trademarks. As has often been heard in their recital performances, this synergistic duo is a partnership of equals at the service of the music they play.

BBC Music Magazine, Christmas 2014
Steinbacher and Robert Kulek give elegant and tasteful accounts, Steinbacher's crystalline high register shining particularly in the first movement of the Franck...Kulek is a sure-footed partner and there is no lack of virtuosity from either player, while Pentatone's surround sound is typically gorgeous.

American Record Guide, January/February 2015
Steinbacher has chosen to record a far superior work as the disc-mate for the sonata; the sonata by Cesar Franck. Aside from the excellent recorded sound, Steinbacher's strong suit is her excellent partner, Robert Kulek. Kulek knows just when to turn up the heat in these more laid-back performances. Steinbacher is a fairly relaxed-sounding performer and doesn't muster the hypnotic level of concentration of my favorite recordings: Jacques Thibaud and Alfred Cortot in 1923 or David Oistrakh and Sviatoslav Richter in 1968. This is a good account. Steinbacher plays the "Booth" Stradivarius of 1716, a very fine violin with a very transparent tone that I have had the pleasure of hearing in concert.

Notes & Reviews:

Recording information: Concertboerderij Valthermond, The Netherlands (05/2012).


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>César Franck (1822 - 1890) : Sonata for Violin and Piano in A major, M 8
  • Performers: Arabella Steinbacher (Violin); Robert Kulek (Piano)
  • Notes: Composition written: 1886.
  • Running Time: 28 min. 15 sec.
  • Period Time: Post Romantic
  • Written: 1886

>Strauss, Richard : Sonata for Violin and Piano in E flat major, Op. 18
  • Performers: Robert Kulek (Piano); Arabella Steinbacher (Violin)
  • Notes: Composition written: 1887.
  • Running Time: 29 min. 10 sec.
  • Period Time: Post Romantic
  • Written: 1887