1 800 222 6872

Fireworks of Music, Celebrating the New Year in Hanover - works by Dubois, Schumann, Shostakovich, Bartok, Rachmaninov, Elgar et al. / Jackson Crawford, saxophone; Ulfert Smidt, organ

Audio Samples

  1. Walzer No. 2, aus: Suite für Varieté-Orchester $0.99 on iTunes
  2. Allegretto - Allegro, aus: Romantische Weihnachtslieder Sz 57 $0.99 on iTunes
  3. Adoration $0.99 on iTunes
  4. Vocalise Nr. 14, aus: Fourteen Songs op. 34 $0.99 on iTunes
  5. Thema und Variationen über "Ah, vous dirai-je, Maman" $0.99 on iTunes
  6. Adagio Nr. 4, aus: Symphonie Nr. 5, f-Moll, op. 42.1 $0.99 on iTunes
  7. Toccata Nr. 5, aus: Symphonie Nr. 5, f-Moll, op. 42.1 $0.99 on iTunes
  8. Nr. 4 Bransle, aus: Dix Figures à Danse $0.99 on iTunes
  9. Nr. 5 Pavane, aus: Dix Figures à Danse $0.99 on iTunes
  10. Nr. 6 Passepied, aus: Dix Figures à Danse $0.99 on iTunes
  11. Nr. 7 Complainte, aus: Dix Figures à Danse $0.99 on iTunes
  12. Nr. 8 Rigaudon, aus: Dix Figures à Danse $0.99 on iTunes
  13. Abendlied Nr. 12, aus: Zwölf Klavierstücke für kleine und große Kinder op. 85 $0.99 on iTunes
  14. Après un Rêve Nr. 1, aus:Trois mélodies op. 7 $0.99 on iTunes
  15. Military March Nr. 1 D-Dur, aus: Pomp and Circumstance op. 39 $0.99 on iTunes
  16. The Holy City $0.99 on iTunes
  17. Suite für Varieté-Orchester: No. 7, Waltz II $0.99 on iTunes
  18. Rumänische Weihnachtslieder, BB 67 Sz. 57 $0.99 on iTunes
  19. Adoration $0.99 on iTunes
  20. 14 Romances, Op. 34: No. 14, Vocalise $0.99 on iTunes
  21. Thema und variationen über "Ah, vous dirai-je Maman" $0.99 on iTunes
  22. Organ Symphony No. 5 in F Minor, Op. 42 No. 1: IV. Adagio $0.99 on iTunes
  23. Organ Symphony No. 5 in F Minor, Op. 42 No. 1: V. Toccata $0.99 on iTunes
  24. Dix figures à danser: IV. Bransle $0.99 on iTunes
  25. Dix figures à danser: V. Pavane $0.99 on iTunes
  26. Dix figures à danser: VI. Passepied $0.99 on iTunes
  27. Dix figures à danser: VII. Complainte $0.99 on iTunes
  28. Dix figures à danser: VIII. Rigaudon $0.99 on iTunes
  29. 12 Klavierstücke für kleine und große Kinder, Op. 85: No. 12, Abendlied $0.99 on iTunes
  30. 3 Mélodies, Op. 7: No. 1, Après un rêve $0.99 on iTunes
  31. Military March No. 1 in D Major, Op. 39, "Pomp and Circumstance" $0.99 on iTunes
  32. The Holy City $0.99 on iTunes

Notes & Reviews:

Dazzling colors, sparkly rhythms, and invigorating sounds: fireworks from the CD-player need not always be by Handel - they can, in fact, have great contemporary value with music of the 19th and 20th centuries. The present recording brings the New Year's Eve concert of 2013 performed by the internationally renowned saxophonist Jackson Crawford and the virtuoso concert organist Ulfert Smidt into your living room. Together, both musicians perform inspiring arrangements of favorites such as Schumann's 'Abendlied' and Rachmaninov's 'Vocalise', among others.

American Record Guide, March/April 2015
Not knowing what to except from this recording, I was pleasantly surprised by both the program and the performances. Organist Ulfert Smidt and the American saxophonist Jackson Crawford present an entertaining program of arrangements for saxophone and organ, performed as a New Year's Eve concert at the Marktkirche in Hanover, Germany. Smidt is the organist at the Marktkirche and teaches at the Hochschule fnr Musik and Theater in Hanover. Crawford has enjoyed an international career as a soloist, performing with numerous orchestras in both the USA and Europe. The booklet offers the specifications of the fine Goll organ. An enjoyable program of easy listening, elegantly played by an unusual combination of instruments.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review