1 800 222 6872

20th-21st Century Organ Music for Two, Vol. 4 - works by Paulus, Briggs, Decker, Callahan, White, Webber / Raymond and Elizabeth Chenault, organists

Notes & Reviews:

The Chenaults - Elizabeth and Raymond - are a team of two virtuoso organists who specialize in music written for two players at the same instrument. They have commissioned a significant number of works from today's leading organ composers, including John Rutter, Conrad Susa, Daniel Pinkham, Gerre Hancock and Naji Hakim. This is the fourth in their series that features first recordings of these unusual works. "Their playing is highly impressive - musical, rhythmical, accurate and colorful." - The Organists Review (England)

American Record Guide, March/April 2015
This is Volume 4 by the Chenaults of works they have commissioned for organ duet. The high standards they continue to bring to this series is evident not only in their performances, which are carefully worked out and thoroughly satisfying, but also by the quality and variety of the works they have commissioned. These range from the fascinating sonic landscape of the Stephen Paulus, Triumph of a Saint, the inventive treatment of plainsong by David Briggs, the esoteric ruminations of Pamela Decker to the crowd-pleasing delights of the Callahan, White, and Lloyd Webber selections. The booklet offers extensive notes on all of the pieces, and the organ specifications are available on the Gothic website. A handsome production in every way, to which I will return many times.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased