1 800 222 6872

Joey Molland: After the Pearl

Track List

>Here Comes Heartache
>Too Late To Cry
>Moolah Rey
>In My Heart
>All Your Lovin
>Life Song
>What Happened
>Mean Jemima
>Dreams of Thunder

Album Notes

Personnel: Joey Molland (vocals, guitar, percussion); Neil Andrews (vocals, keyboards); Tom Weisend, John Durzo (vocals); Joe Kutch (slide guitar); Vince Andrews (horns); Rick Hall (drums, percussion).

Recording information: Bison Studios, Columbus, OH.

Photographer: Roman Sapecki.

After the Pearl is Joey Molland's debut solo album, following the final demise of Badfinger. This also marked his first release following the suicide of Tom Evans (with whom Molland had re-formed the band in 1979). Perhaps that is the reason for the overall sadness of the album. Yes, Molland's strong, pretty melodies are there, but lyrically this is album of loss and longing, and this is what the artist does best. His plaintive vocals mixed with the melancholic music makes for a heart wrenching and captivating listening experience. Musically, the band is tight, and the music is well arranged and well produced. Fans will note the inclusion of "Mean Jemima," which was originally recorded by Badfinger for the No Dice album (known as "Mean Mean Jemima"). This version does not differ in arrangement and lacks the energy of the original. Still, it is a solid effort. What brings the album down somewhat is the lack of variety throughout the album. It plods along with pretty much the same style. Although the style is played well, the format exhausts itself quickly. Fans of Badfinger will love this; fans of mid-'80s pop/rock will also find something of interest with this album. ~ Aaron Badgley


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review