1 800 222 6872

Verdi: Requiem / Krassimira Stoyanova, Saimir Pirgu, Orlin Anastassov, Marina Prudenskaja; Bavarian Radio SO; Jansons

Album Summary

>Verdi, Giuseppe : Requiem Mass
Performers Conductor Ensembles Composer

Notes & Reviews:

Looking back on the Verdi year of 2013, BR-KLASSIK has now supplemented its discography with the live recording of a concert highlight of October 2013, with Mariss Jansons and the Symphonieorchester and Chorus of the Bayerischer Rundfunk. With the Messa da Requiem, chief conductor Mariss Jansons is now represented on the BR-KLASSIK label with Verdi's choral-symphonic legacy. Together with the international soloists (Krassimira Stoyanova, Marina Prudenskaya, Saimir Pirgu, Orlin Anastassov) and the Symphonieorchester des Bayerischen Rundfunks, the Chorus of the Bayerischer Rundfunk is also a fundamental element of the Requiem, and its tonal versatility received special praise from the press. - First Verdi recording with Mariss Jansons on the BR-KLASSIK label - Exciting live atmosphere - International soloists - Large choral part, brilliantly sung by the BR Choir

American Record Guide, March/April 2015
This is a thoroughly enjoyable and satisfying performance of the Requiem. Tempos are just right, and the well-balanced chorus sings with fervor and appealing tone. The conductor is always supportive, calm, or assertive by turns. The solo quartet is good, especially on top and bottom. Anastassov's nicely modulated bass is a pleasure to hear, and Stoyanova is lovely in tone, flowing and steady. Her pianissimo high B-flat is perfect (though the top C at the very end is screamy and curdled), and she has fine breath control. Tenor Pirgu is sometimes graceless in the ensembles. I have some reservations about the recorded sound, which is light on bottom.

Notes & Reviews:

Recording information: Philharmonie im Gasteig, München (10/07/2013-10/11/2013).


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Works Details

>Verdi, Giuseppe : Requiem Mass
  • Performers: Orlin Anastassov (Bass); Saimir Pirgu (Tenor); Marina Prudenskaya; Krassimira Stoyanova (Soprano)
  • Conductor: Mariss Jansons
  • Ensemble: Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra
  • Notes: Philharmonie im Gasteig, München (10/07/2013-10/11/2013)
  • Running Time: 77 min. 58 sec.
  • Period Time: Romantic
  • Written: 1874