1 800 222 6872

Anatoly Alexandrov (1888-1982): Piano Music, Vol. 2 - Piano Sonatas Nos. 1, 2, 4 & 6; Lyric Suite, Op. 33 et al. / Kyung-Ah Noh, piano

Notes & Reviews:

Anatoly Alexander (1888–1982) is a forgotten figure of the Russian school of pianism that embraced Taneyev, Rachmaninov, Skryabin, Gilels and so many other composers and pianists. His fourteen sonatas and much of his work for piano is in an attractive late-Romantic style that owes much to his teacher and friend Nikolai Medtner. Pianist Kyung-ah Noh (b. 1982, South Korea) ‘plays with immense power when called for, but is equally able to command the subtlest “pianissimo”’ Continuing, “she has a real empathy for the style of this underrated composer.” (MusicWeb Int’l on Volume 1)

American Record Guide, March/April 2015
Noh's playing is fluid and expressive. She shows great interpretive and technical command: her passage runs are flawless. Sonata 2 is nicely voiced, and she manages to make this rather thorny single movement sound cohesive. The character pieces are likewise fascinating - the Little Suite is a gem.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased