1 800 222 6872

J.S. Bach: Violin Sonatas Nos. 2, 4, 6 (6 with alternative version for violin and harpsichord) / David Rabinovich, violin; Marion Boshuizen, harpsichord


Notes & Reviews:

Founded 1992, the Apollo Ensemble of Amsterdam, under its artistic leader David Rabinovich, has emerged as one of Europe’s leading authentic period instrument Baroque chamber music groups. Built around a core of key players, the Ensemble expands as needed, even to orchestral size when necessary, and has developed an outstanding reputation for its recovery and reinterpretation of Baroque Jewish music. This Centaur release features the Ensemble and harpsichordist Marion Boshuizen in three of Bach’s Sonatas for violin and harpsichord, including the alternate version of Sonata VI.

American Record Guide, March/April 2015
David Rabinovich and Marion Boshuizen are members of the period performance practice group Apollo Ensemble, and they give us wellthought- out and tasteful readings of Bach's even-numbered violin sonatas. I like these performances. Ani Kavafian's set has the great advantage of Kenneth Cooper's colorful and enthusiastic partnership on a fortepiano - an option that I wish more performers would explore ( Jan/Feb 2005). The main advantage of the present set is that it has both the usual and the other version of Sonata 6.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review