1 800 222 6872

Music in Dresden in the Times of Augustus II The Strong / Martyna Pastuszka, violin; Marcin Swiatkiewicz, cembalo; Krzysztof Firlus, viola da gamba

Notes & Reviews:

The music of the court of Saxon electors is striking in its cosmopolitan richness. It represents a blend of Italian and French styles, coupled with typically German polyphony. These diverse artistic trends appeared at the court in Dresden at the beginning of the 17th c. and coexisted there throughout the following century. ‘Music in Dresden in the times of Augustus II the Strong’ features works by Vivaldi, Heinchen, Veracini, Schreyfogel and Benna, played by an historically-informed performing chamber trio of consisting of violin, viola da gamba and harpsichord.

American Record Guide, March/April 2015
The sonatas display distinctly Italian violin idioms - delicately lyrical melodic lines, multi-string stops, and exciting scale-like passages and sequential string crossings. The style is well known in the works of Vivaldi and Veracini, but Schreyfogel's sonatas are a revelation. Martyna Pastuszka's playing is light, with a wonderful intensity that animates both vigorous passages and languid melodies. Notes are in English.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased