1 800 222 6872

Michael G. Cunningham (b.1937): Paragonia; TransActions; Piano Concerto; Trumpet Concerto / Robert Ian Winstin; Petr Vronsky

Notes & Reviews:

On Paragonia, Michael G. Cunningham explores ways an orchestra can interact with itself on several levels. Counter Currents presents contrary phrases and themes simultaneously stated. TransActions portrays dimensions of density, presenting gestures and passages prompting sectional orchestral interplay. In the Piano Concerto, the orchestra and piano are equally matched, using elements of stylized jazz and vocal-like passages to structure themes. The Trumpet Concerto demonstrates different conversational techniques among the voices, such as chatter, flippancy and imitation.

American Record Guide, March/April 2015
The cover art - images of a snowy, mountainous region on a planet that appears to have two moons - promises aspirations of grandeur, monumental music that will reflect the awe-inspiring power of the natural forces that create such mountains.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased