1 800 222 6872

Sound and Fury: Chamber Music of Paul Osterfield (b.1973): Etude, book 1; Kandinsky Images; Smoky Mountain Autumn / various artists

Notes & Reviews:

From the serenity of the Smoky Mountains to the abstraction and boldness of Kandinsky’s paintings, composer Paul Osterfield’s debut solo on Navona, ‘Sound and Fury’, pulls inspiration from several experiences the composer translates into refined, stimulating and expressive chamber pieces. Mr. Osterfield writes many of his pieces for particular performers and ensembles, giving his music unique personalities that reflect the musicians’ virtuosic capabilities. Sound and Fury, written for the Blakemore Trio, uses ornate passages and driving rhythms with soaring lyrical melodies, while Etudes for Piano, Book 1, written for pianist Caleb Harris, demonstrates various technical faculties such as parallel chords, syncopated rhythms, and blazing strings of notes. Works such as Smoky Mountain Autumn and Kandinsky Images depict the imagery of the natural landscapes of East Tennessee and the intense, often dark, and striking expressions of the painter’s pieces.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased