1 800 222 6872

Vintage Cornet Recital - works by Liberati, Rimmer, Puccini, Arban, Sousa, Clarke, Saint-Saens / Mark Ponzo, cornet; JeongSoo Kim, piano

Notes & Reviews:

Mark Ponzo holds the Doctorate of Musical Arts degree in Performance and Literature from the Eastman School of Music with the Performer’s Certificate. Dr. Ponzo is a Full Professor at Northern Illinois University, where he joined the faculty in 1990. His principal teachers include John Hagstrom, Barbara Butler, Charles Schlueter, George Coble, and Richard Jones. Mark is Solo Cornet with The New Sousa Band and Illinois Brass Band as well as Principal Trumpet of the Fox Valley Orchestra and Antiqua Baroque Consort. He has been a member of the Rochester Philharmonic Orchestra, Mexico City Philharmonic, and Syracuse Symphony Orchestra. Mark has performed with the Chicago Symphony Orchestra, Music of the Baroque, Elgin Symphony, Chicago Brass Quintet, Illinois Chamber Symphony, Chicago Sinfonietta, Northwest Indiana Philharmonic, New Philharmonic, Illinois Philharmonic, Millar Brass and Light Opera Works.

American Record Guide, March/April 2015
It's great when a cornet sounds the way a cornet should sound: round and sweet most of the time, incisive only occasionally. Ponzo has the ideal sound and the flexible, expressive style. Pianist Jeong Soo Kim, Ponzo's NIU colleague, plays with authority, skill, and great feeling. I'm perplexed about the opening of Clarke's 'Shores'.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased