1 800 222 6872

Greg Abate/Greg Abate Quartet: Motif [Digipak]

Track List

>Buddy's Rendezvous
>Mrs. T
>Steppin' Out
>Morning Of The Leaves
>Swingin' At The Cookie
>Bop'n Bob Don't Stop

Album Remarks & Appraisals:

On his new Whaling City Sound disc, Motif, hornman Greg Abate presents Exhibit A to prove he belongs near the top of the list when the subject is today's top saxophonists. On alto, soprano and baritone, Abate demonstrates scorching flair as notes flow organically, with immense personality and passion. It helps to have a sublime trio watching his back - Tim Ray (piano), John Lockwood (bass) and Mark Walker (drums) - to keep Greg moving ever forward. With a finger-snapping, toe-tapping propensity for up-tempo, almost athletic rhythms, Abate gives his all on Motif.

Album Notes

Personnel: Greg Abate (flute, soprano saxophone, alto saxophone, baritone saxophone); Tim Ray (piano); Mark Walker (drums).

Audio Mixer: Peter Kontrimas.

Liner Note Author: Greg Abate.

Recording information: PBS Studios, Westwood, MA.

Photographer: David Arruda, Jr.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review