1 800 222 6872

Fritz Brun, Vol. 5: Piano Concerto; Divertimento for piano & strings; Variations for piano & strings / Tomas Nemec, piano

Notes & Reviews:

Three of Swiss composer Fritz Brun's appealing and accessible works are featured on this disc. The Piano Concerto was written in 1946; the Variations in 1944; and the Divertimento was written in 1954.

American Record Guide, March/April 2015
The Variations (1944) start with an original theme by Bruns, closely harmonized and in a classical vein. The soloist enters from the ground up. Bruns's variations are inventive, the fourth having real harmonic drive and the sixth Mendelssohnian sprightliness. The Divertimento (1954) is the most 20th Century sounding work of the three. It's still highly approachable, with piquant wayward touches in its melodies. A lot of its formal structure uses the variation technique. One, a slow passage about 5:50 in, touches real emotional depth. Orchestral support is good. Soloist Nemec acquits himself well, with lightness of touch and proper dynamics. No bleeding fingers here. Adriano's conducting, normally in the epic mode, unbends to make everything enjoyable. His notes are, as usual, excellent.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased