1 800 222 6872

The David Liebman Group/Expansions: The Dave Liebman Group: Samsara [Digipak]

Track List

>Ugly Beauty
>Liberian Hummingbird
>Rhythm Thing
>Searcher 2
>Level One
>Child Refugee

Album Remarks & Appraisals:

After 20 years of exploring free, collective improvisation with his former group, Liebman embarks on a brilliant new adventure, with a new generation of talented musicians eager, like their bandleader, to alter the language of jazz. His influences Monk and Miles endure, with unpredictable rhythms and harmonic devices, especially on excursions like the funky "Liberian Hummingbird" and the uniquely re-harmonized "Level One." "Samsara" recycles and re-orders the twelve pitches of Western music several times in tempo, key and rhythm over a colorful canvas.

Album Notes

Personnel: Matt Vashlishan (flute, clarinet, alto saxophone); David Liebman (wooden flute, soprano saxophone); Bobby Avey (piano, electric piano); Tony Marino (acoustic bass, electric bass); Alex Ritz (drums, frame drum).

Audio Mixers: Bobby Avey; Matt Vashlishan.

Recording information: Spectra Sound, Nazareth, PA (12/29/2013/12/30/2013).

Editors: Bobby Avey; Matt Vashlishan.

Photographer: Bud Nealy.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

See Also

There are no recommendations posted for this product