1 800 222 6872

Bjorn Torske: Nedi Myra [Digipak]

Track List

>Station To Station
>Eight Years
>Fresh From the Bakery
>Smoke Detector Song
>Beautiful Thing
>Limb Fu
>Ode To a Duck

Album Notes

Editors: Oddgeir Huidsten; Bjorn Torske.

Bjorn Torske's first Ferox album, the rather excellent Remain, was released three years prior under his Ismistik alias, and explored Detroit-inspired home-listening techno. Nedi Myra began the Norwegian producer's album-to-album unpredictability with a switch to downtempo house. The tracks flit between sampled/looped and programmed/played elements, with Torske more adept here at the former. "Expresso" and "Limb Fu" are built around meaty disco-funk basslines and swirling samples, and together would have made for an exceptional 12" release. The nocturnal breakbeat science of "Eight Years," another standout, would not have been out of place on a Mo Wax compilation. Some cuts, like "Fresh from the Bakery" and "Ode to a Duck," veer close to upscale hotel-lobby music -- at extreme odds with the album sleeve, which seems to portend acid-folk warblings or some other kind of introverted fare. Out of print for years, the album was reissued by Smalltown Supersound in 2015. ~ Andy Kellman


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review