1 800 222 6872

Brian Eno: Nerve Net [Bonus Disc] [Digipak]

Track List

>Fractal Zoom
>Wire Shock
>What Actually Happened?
>Pierre in Mist
>My Squelchy Life
>Juju Space Jazz
>Roil, The Choke, The
>Ali Click
>Distributed Being
>Web [Lascaux Mix]
>Appendix: Decentre
>I Fall Up - (previously unreleased)
>Harness, The - (previously unreleased)
>My Squelchy Life - (previously unreleased)
>Tutti Forgetti - (previously unreleased)
>Stiff - (previously unreleased)
>Some Words - (previously unreleased)
>Juju Space Jazz, The - (previously unreleased)
>Under - (previously unreleased)
>Everbody's Mother - (previously unreleased)
>Little Apricot - (previously unreleased)
>Over - (previously unreleased)

Album Reviews:

Q (10/92, p.82) - 3 Stars - Good - "...explore[s] a wide variety of musical landscapes...excitingly new..."

Alternative Press (12/92, p.56) - "...a summation of the various pop styles that Eno used on his four non-ambient albums between 1973 and 1977...superbly fuses all those early works...NERVE NET is, pure and simply, a lot of fun..."

The Wire (p.55) - "[U]nquestionably his funkiest project....It's a landmark in post-rock dance music. It has a strangeness and charm best described by one of its own track titles, 'Ju-Ju Space Jazz'."

Option (Nov.-Dec./92, p.113) - "...Building various studio ideas and jams into the 12 tracks here, his approach is more musical than most industrial techno and less disco oriented than rave-type stuff. The closest precedent from Eno's past would be MY LIFE IN THE BUSH OF GHOSTS..."

Audio Magazine (1/93, p.149) - "...a cyberpunk vision of exposed synapses on the verge of breakdown...Eno turns Miles Davis' ON THE CORNER grooves into a postmodern acid trip..."

NME (Magazine) (10/10/92, p.39) - "...a sonic mutation clearly ahead of its time..."

Album Notes

Personnel includes: Brian Eno (vocals, guitar, piano, organ, synthesizers, bass); Neil Catchpole, Christine West-Oram (vocals); Guy Barber, Maria Eno, Helen May (spoken vocals); Robert Quine, Gregg Arreguin, Jamie West-Oram, Robert Ahwai (guitar); Wayne Duchamp (alto saxophone); Alice Ngukwe (tenor saxophone); King Hastings Kwesi Banana (baritone saxophone); Curtis Pelican (trumpet); Rod Melvin (piano); Roger Eno (piano sample); Laurence Cottle, Romeo Williams (bass); Benmont Tench, Isaac Osapanin (percussion); Robert Fripp, John Paul Jones.

Engineers include: Brian Fenner, Chris Fuhrman, Sid Wells.

Liner Note Author: C.S.J. Bofop.

Recording information: Abbey Road, London; Eastcote, London; Ground Control, LA; Sam Therapy, London; Westside, London; Wilderness, Woodbridge.

Photographers: Rolf M. Engel; Nick Robertson ; Rita Antonioli.

In 1991, Brian Eno announced the imminent release of his first all-pop solo album since 1978's BEFORE AND AFTER SCIENCE, to be called MY SQUELCHY LIFE. Instead, Eno shelved that album and released the peculiar NERVE NET in its place. Featuring a few of MY SQUELCHY LIFE's proposed songs, including the charming collage-like title track, the lengthy album is mostly instrumental. However, it's not at all like Eno's previous ambient work; these 12 songs are emphatically danceable and far less hermetic. Guests include guitarists Robert Fripp, Robert Quine, and Jamie West-Oram; keyboardists John Paul Jones, Benmont Tench, and Roger Eno; and a variety of drummers and percussionists who blend club-scene techno with exotic world music accents. The brief, gentle solo keyboard piece "Appendix: Decentre" adds a becalmed coda, but this frantic, polyglot album deserves the often self-contradictory list of adjectives presented in the liner notes.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

See Also

There are no recommendations posted for this product