1 800 222 6872

Lift: Chamber Music by Elena Ruehr (b. 1963) / Ethan Filner, Irina Muresanu, Jennifer Kloetzel & Sarah Bob

Notes & Reviews:

Award-winning composer Elena Ruehr's AVIE debut, Averno (AVR 2263), introduced three bold works for choir and orchestra. For her follow-up, Ruehr scales down to intimate solo and chamber works for strings and piano, all with references to older music: baroque elements infuse the Klein Suite, while the three movements of the jazz-tinged Second Violin Sonata are dedicated to her composition teacher William Bolcom, jazz teacher Eddie Russ, and Oscar Peterson, whom Ruehr met on New Year's Eve 1980. The Boston-based Ruehr, whose works are performed from coast to coast, teaches at MIT. Last year, she was awarded a Guggenheim Fellowship.

New York Times
Sumptuously scored and full of soaring melodies and piquant harmonies.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased