1 800 222 6872

Beethoven Explored, Vol. 6: 'The Chamber Eroica' - Symphony No. 3, version for piano quartet / Aaron Shorr, piano; Peter S. Skærved, violin; Dov Scheindlin, viola; Neil Heyde, cello

Album Summary

>Beethoven, Ludwig van : Symphony no 3 in E flat major, Op. 55 "Eroica"
Performers Composer

Notes & Reviews:

This is a very important recording, as it is the first time the original piano quartet version of the Eroica Symphony has been recorded. (it should not be confused with the arrangement by Ferdinand Ries published 50 years later). This anonymous arrangment was made at Beethoven's insistence (though he had requested a string quintet) and published in 1807, three years after the orchestral premiere. The writing is far superior to that of Ries in the later version, and this work stands as a fine and magisterial piano quartet in its own right.

Notes & Reviews:

Recording information: St. John's, Smith Square, London (2003).


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Works Details

>Beethoven, Ludwig van : Symphony no 3 in E flat major, Op. 55 "Eroica"
  • Performers: Neil Heyde (Cello); Dov Scheindlin (Viola); Aaron Shorr (Piano); Peter Skaerved (Violin)
  • Running Time: 48 min. 59 sec.
  • Period Time: Classical
  • Form: Orchestral
  • Written: 1803