1 800 222 6872

Arensky, Tchaikovsky & Shostakovich: Works for String Orchestra / New Moscow CO; Igor Shukow

Notes & Reviews:

IGOR SHUKOW has become one of the legends of the Russian piano school. With the presented Volume V of our Shukow-edition we are releasing further jewels from the private archive of the great pianist. The live recordings of works for string orchestra by Arensky, Tchaikovsky and Shostakovich with the New Moscow Chamber Orchestra, founded and conducted by him testify - once again - to the high standing of the artist

American Record Guide, March/April 2015
The first disc has the Tchaikovsky Variations of Arensky, Tchaikovsky's own Serenade for Strings, and the Shostakovich Chamber Symphony - Barshai's version of the Quartet No. 8, approved by the composer. They are quite lovely, very sensitively played (pretty slow tempos - the Tchaikovsky takes 33 minutes), but I prefer most of this music with more strings. Svetlanov did the serenade just as slowly and tenderly, but with a full string section. The Shostakovich is very good.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review