1 800 222 6872

Ricky Ford: Hot Brass

Album Notes

Personnel: Ricky Ford (tenor saxophone), Lew Soloff, Claudio Roditi (trumpets), Steve Turre (trombone), Danilo Perez (piano), Christian McBride (bass), Carl Allen (drums).

Recorded at Nola's Penthouse Studio, New York on April 30, 1991. Includes liner notes by Mark Gardner.

All songs written by Ricky Ford except "Cop Out" and "It Don't Mean A Thing If It Ain't Got That Swing" (Duke Ellington).

Nice session matching tenor saxophone standout Ricky Ford with crew of fiery trumpet and trombone players, plus bassist Christian McBride, drummer Carl Allen, and percussionist Danilo Perez. Ford was a young lion back in the '70s, when there was no hype. He's now an experienced, skilled veteran, and teams superbly with trumpeters Lew Soloff and Claudio Roditi and trombonist Steve Turre. ~ Ron Wynn


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review