1 800 222 6872

Coleman Hawkins: April in Paris, Featuring Body and Soul

Album Notes

Personnel includes: Coleman Hawkins (tenor saxophone); Thelma Carpenter (vocals); Benny Carter (alto saxophone, trumpet); Eustice Moore, Budd Johnson (alto saxophone); Fats Navarro, Jimmy Nottingham, Tommy Lindsay, Joe Guy (trumpet); Jimmy Buffington (French horn); J.C. Higginbotham, J.J. Johnson, Urbie Green, Jack Satterfield (trombone); Julius Baker, Sid Jekowsky (flute); Danny Polo (clarinet); Phil Bodner (oboe); Hal McKusick, Zoot Sims, Al Cohn (reeds); Marty Wilson (vibraphone); Gene Rodgers, Hank Jones (piano); Lawrence Lucie, Chuck Wayne, Barry Gailbraith (guitar); Johnny Williams, Milt Hinton, Oscar Smith, Jack Lesberg (bass); Walter Johnson, Max Roach, Osie Johnson, Art Herbert (drums); Phil Kraus (bells).

Recorded between October 11, 1939 and January 20, 1956. Includes liner notes by Ira Gitler.

Digitally remastered by Joe Lopes and Jay Newland (1991, BMG Recording Studios, New York, New York).

On APRIL IN PARIS, the king of tenor saxophone plays in myriad musical settings recorded over three decades. Hawkins' inimitable dark-toned sound is documented over these ten tracks. However, his classic recordings from the '30s and '40s demonstrate his legacy best. Whether it is "Body and Soul" or "Bouncing With Bean," Hawk's woody, vibrato-laden approach is in full bloom.

Songs such as "There Will Never Be Another You," "Little Girl Blue," and "Have you Met Miss Jones?" are enhanced by the delicate and lush sound of a string orchestra. Hawkins, known for a thick, almost abrasive sound, plays lighter and more romantically (a la his friend Lester Young) on these tracks.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

See Also

There are no recommendations posted for this product