1 800 222 6872

Abdullah Ibrahim: Mantra Mode

Album Notes

Personnel: Abdullah Ibrahim (piano), Basil "Manenberg" Coetzee (tenor saxophone), Johnny Mekoa (trumpet), Robbie Jansen (flute, alto saxophone, baritone saxophone), Errol Dyers (guitar), Spencer Mbudu (bass), Monty Weber (drums).

Recorded in Cape Town, South Africa in January 1991.

This was a very special recording for pianist/composer Abdullah Ibrahim because, after nearly 30 years of exile, he was back in Cape Town, South Africa performing with local musicians. The musicianship is surprisingly high and the African septet does a fine job of interpreting eight of Ibrahim's newer folk melodies. ~ Scott Yanow


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

See Also

There are no recommendations posted for this product