1 800 222 6872

Bruckner: Symphony 6 in A Major / Philharmonie Festiva; Gerd Schaller

Album Summary

>Bruckner, Anton : Symphony no 6 in A major, WAB 106
Conductor Ensemble
  • >

Notes & Reviews:

Bruckner's Sixth is one of his most genial symphonies, inhabiting a world not too distant from the symphonies of Schubert, Dvorák and even Beethoven's Pastoral. In the words of the composer, this fetchingly melodic symphony is one he considered his "cheekiest" ("die Keckste"). This release completes conductor Gerd Schaller and his Philharmonie Festiva's Bruckner cycle, performed in the context of the Ebrach Summer of Music (Ebracher Musiksommer), a cycle often exploring unusual and in some cases unperformed variants of the symphonies, many in editions by Professor William Carragan.

Notes & Reviews:

Recording information: Abteikirche Ebrach, Bayerischer Rundfunk, Studio Franke (08/2013).


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Works Details

>Bruckner, Anton : Symphony no 6 in A major, WAB 106
  • Conductor: Gerd Schaller
  • Notes: Composition written: 1879-81.
  • Running Time: 56 min. 47 sec.
  • Period Time: Romantic
  • Form: Orchestral
  • Written: 1879-1881
  • Studio/Live: Live