1 800 222 6872

Johann Baptist Vanhal (1739-1813): Keyboard Capricchios, Opp. 31 & 36 / Michael Tsalka, piano

Notes & Reviews:

One of the leading composers of the Classical and early Romantic eras, Johann Baptist Vanhal played a vital role in the development of Viennese music between 1750 and 1780. He composed prolifically in many genres, including a large number of quartets, symphonies, sacred works, vocal and instrumental works, including around 150 piano sonatas and sonatinas. Vanhal was at his most inspirational and improvisational in his keyboard Capriccios composed in the 1780s, which are some of the most creative examples of the Viennese Classical style, not least in their almost symphonic force.

American Record Guide, July/August 2015
Accolades are due pianist Michael Tsalka, who writes his own excellent notes and plays with feeling, expressivity, and pixieish good humor. The sound is good and the booklet even gives us a handsome color portrait of the composer. It all makes one wonder why such fine music has had to wait this long for any attention.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased