1 800 222 6872

Khachaturian: Piano Works and Ballet Transcriptions / Kariné Poghosyan, piano

Notes & Reviews:

Despite the popularity of Aram Khachaturian's ubiquitous ballet music, his works for piano have been relatively neglected. This release, featuring two World Premiere Recordings, combines arrangements of popular pieces such as Masquerade - Suite (Arr. A. Dolukhanian) with less familiar works such as the composer's early Poem and the abstract Piano Sonata. The Armenian pianist Karine Poghosyan has won numerous awards as well as performed in some of the world's most prestigious concert halls. At the Manhattan School of Music she completed her D.m.A. in a record-breaking two years with a thesis on Aram Khachaturian's works for piano.

American Record Guide, July/August 2015
This is a decent release. The Toccata is ear-catching and brief, and it has some strangely Glass-like harmonies in its presciently minimalist middle section. The 2 Pieces are tiny and exotic, and actually have some of the most interesting themes of anything on the program. The Adagio from Spartacus and the Masquerade transcriptions leave a lot to be desired; they simply need the orchestra's lushness, especially the Adagio. Khachaturian is fine, and his program offers more substantial music. Poghosyan is best in the Poem, her performance both taut and fragrant.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased