1 800 222 6872

Rossini: Petite Messe Solennelle, Sandra Pastrana, Gabriella Sborgi, Davide Giusti, Carlo Lepore, Filippo Farinelli. New Chamber Singers

Album Summary

>Rossini, Gioachino : Petite messe solennelle, for soloists, 2 pianos, harmonium & choir
Performers Conductor Ensemble Composer

Notes & Reviews:

The Petite Messe Solennelle, the last of Rossini's compositions, was written almost 30 years after his last opera. The work had a private premiere in 1864, attended by Parisian high society and the musical elite; it was performed by a small but star-studded group of musicians, including internationally-renowned soloists Barbara and Carlotta Marchisio. Daniel Auber, director of the Conservatoire, had chosen the cream of the crop from his students that year to form the choir, and respected cellist and composer Gaetano Braga even made an appearance as page-turner to the second pianist. The work was premiered in earnest in 1869, three months after the composer's death. The work is performed here with Rossini's original instrumentation and also includes the hymn for soprano and piano 'O salutaris hostia', which is often omitted. As a world first, a bonus track 'O salutaris de campagne' is included. The four soloists are established operatic singers; among soprano Sandro Pastrana's string of awards are prizes at the Ottavio Ziino competition in Barcelona, and mezzo-soprano Gabriella Sborgi has appeared as Cherubino in Le nozze di Figaro and also in The Rape of Lucretia, A Midsummer Night's Dream and L'enfant et les sortilèges. Recent engagements of tenor Davide Giusti include the role of Alfredo in La traviata, and bass Carlo Lepore is something of a Rossini specialist, appearing regularly in roles such as Don Magnifico (La Cenerentola), and Basilio and Bartolo (Il barbiere di Siviglia). Other information: Recorded in 2013. Contains notes on the history of the work, the conductor's interpretation and performer biographies. Includes instrument specifications.

Gramophone Magazine, April 2015
The singing is robust and workmanlike: witness the choir's realisation of the 'Cum Sancto Spiritu', which has exactly the right degree of trenchancy and joy...Nothing is done by halves. The women's 'Qui tollis' is a soaring act of public penitence, the 'Quoniam' a thunderous affirmation of Christ's majesty.

Notes & Reviews:

Recording information: Church of the Confraternita di S. Vitale, Assisi (04/25/2013-04/28/2013).


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Rossini, Gioachino : Petite messe solennelle, for soloists, 2 pianos, harmonium & choir
  • Performers: Sabina Belei (Piano); Riccardo Bonci (Harmonium); Filippo Farinelli (Piano)
  • Conductor: Andrea Cappelleri
  • Ensemble: New Chamber Singers
  • Notes: Church of the Confraternita di S. Vitale, Assisi (04/25/2013-04/28/2013)
  • Running Time: 26 min. 25 sec.
  • Period Time: Romantic
  • Form: Choral
  • Written: 1863