1 800 222 6872

Nordic Concertos for clarinet by Hillborg, Holmboe, Rehnqvist, Crusell / Martin Frost, clarinet

Album Summary

>Hillborg, Anders : Concerto for Clarinet ("Peacock Tales") (original version)
>Holmboe, Vagn : Chamber Concerto no 3, for clarinet & chamber orchestra, Op. 21
>Rehnquist, Karin : On A Distant Shore, concerto for clarinet & orchestra
>Crusell, Bernhard Henrik : Introduction, Theme and Variations on a Swedish Air for clarinet & orchestra, Op 12
Performer Conductors Ensembles Composers

Notes & Reviews:

BBC Music Magazine, Awards Issue 2015
Martin Fr÷st displays versatility and staggering virtuosity: eventful Anders Hillborg, assertive Holmboe, atmospheric Karin Rehnqvist and jolly Crusell.

Testifying to the multi-facetted talent of Martin Fröst as well as to the different responses that the clarinet has awakened in composers over the years, the present compilation brings together four concertante works in recordings that have all been previously released on separate discs. The opening work, Fröst's fellow-Swede Anders Hillborg's 'Peacock Tales', is the longest of the four, as well as being something of a calling card for Fröst. It was composed for him in 1998, and on his initiative it incorporates choreographical elements and lighting effects when performed in concert. Hillborg has since made several versions of the work, and Martin Fröst has performed it numerous times worldwide in its different incarnations. The disc Dances to a Black Pipe (BIS-1863) includes a shorter chamber version for clarinet, piano and strings, but the present recording is of the original version, with large symphony orchestra. If Peacock Tales focuses on the soloist, the opposite might be said of the Danish composer Vagn Holmboe's Concerto No.3 from 1942. The work is one in a series of 13 concertos for one or more solo instruments and small orchestra, and it would seem that the composer, by not mentioning the solo instrument in the titles of these works, wished to signal a particular concern in regards to the relationship between soloist and orchestra. Writing about her On a Distant Shore, subtitled 'poem for clarinet and chamber orchestra', the Swedish composer Karin Rehnqvist discusses the same problem more directly: 'How does one arrive at a relationship between soloist and orchestra which is interesting and musically rewarding for everyone: soloist, orchestra and audience?' Such concerns were probably of less concern to Finnish-Swedish composer and clarinet virtuoso Bernhard Crusell. Active during the beginning of the 19th century, Crusell is today mainly known for his clarinet concertos and clarinet quartets, but here Martin Fröst's clarinet jauntily guides us through one of his earliest works: Introduction, Theme and Variations on a Swedish Air - the air in question being a drinking song popular at the time.

American Record Guide, July/August 2015
The performances are fully professional and artistically convincing. Frost lives up to all the expectations of an international soloist - superb clarity, virtuosic technique, sincere declarations, and powerful stage presence. He bends and changes his sound at the whim of the composer; he cuts through large symphonic forces with ease; and he grabs the listener at every phrase. He is electric in the post-minimalist tour-de force Hillborg; intimate and charming in the short neo-classical Holmboe; hypnotic in the atmospheric, avant-garde Rehnqvist; and bubbling with Viennese grace in the delightfully classical Crusell. The supporting ensembles are first-rate, too, handling the challenges and colors of each score with authority and aplomb. The Ostgota Symphonic Wind Ensemble is particularly impressive in the Crusell, sporting a harmoniemusik skill and character that should inspire bands everywhere.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Hillborg, Anders : Concerto for Clarinet ("Peacock Tales") (original version)
  • Performer: Martin Frost (Clarinet)
  • Conductor: Esa-Pekka Salonen
  • Ensemble: Swedish Radio Symphony Orchestra
  • Running Time: 29 min. sec.
  • Period Time: Contemporary
  • Written: 1998

>Holmboe, Vagn : Chamber Concerto no 3, for clarinet & chamber orchestra, Op. 21
  • Performer: Martin Frost (Clarinet)
  • Conductor: Owain Hughes
  • Ensemble: Aalborg Symphony Orchestra
  • Running Time: 16 min. 55 sec.
  • Period Time: Modern
  • Form: Concerto
  • Written: 1940-1942

>Rehnquist, Karin : On A Distant Shore, concerto for clarinet & orchestra
  • Performer: Martin Frost (Clarinet)
  • Conductor: Petter Sundkvist
  • Ensemble: Swedish Chamber Orchestra
  • Running Time: 17 min. 21 sec.
  • Period Time: Contemporary
  • Written: 2002

>Crusell, Bernhard Henrik : Introduction, Theme and Variations on a Swedish Air for clarinet & orchestra, Op 12
  • Performer: Martin Frost (Clarinet)
  • Conductor: Arie van Beek
  • Ensemble: Östgöta Symphonic Wind Ensemble
  • Running Time: 1 min. 10 sec.
  • Period Time: Classical
  • Written: 1804