1 800 222 6872

Mourn (Spain): Mourn

Track List

>Your Brain Is Made of Candy
>Dark Issues
>Misery Factory
>You Don't Know Me
>Silver Gold
>[Untitled Hidden Track]

Album Reviews:

Rolling Stone - 3.5 stars out of 5 -- "[A] genuinely contrary fury of jagged-granite guitars and severe pop discipline."

Pitchfork (Website) - "Mourn are an impressively patient band, with a keen sense of dramatic dynamics and gritty groove that belies their primordial teenage garage-band beginnings."

Album Notes

Personnel: Jazz Rodríguez Bueno, Carla Pérez Vas (vocals, guitar); Antonio Postius (drums).

Recording information: Nautilus, Arenys De Mar.

One of the most natural and creative-sounding 2010s acts finding inspiration in punk and alt-rock icons like Sleater-Kinney, Patti Smith, and PJ Harvey, Mourn have the ability to surprise, unlike so many of their contemporaries. Their self-titled debut is a loving homage to those formidable artists (there are also shades of Throwing Muses' wildness on "Misery Factory" and a hint of "Smells Like Teen Spirit"'s crashing riffs and drums on "Dark Issues"), but Mourn is far from rote imitation. While Jazz Rodríguez Bueno and Carla Pérez Vas sing and play with the intensity of their influences, their songs reflect that they (as well as drummer Antonio Postius and bassist Leia Rodríguez) were still in their teens when they recorded them. There's a purity and directness to their music that many older artists would kill for, especially on more melodic tracks like "Otitis" and "Squirrel." Intentionally or not, Mourn capture just how mercurial adolescence can be, switching from mischievous to deadly serious -- and back again -- in the blink of an eye. One moment, they're sweetly, playfully creepy, as on the brilliant opening track "Your Brain Is Made of Candy"; the next, they sound like they're performing an exorcism on "Silver Gold." The band also spends a healthy amount of time challenging authority and boys (by name and in general) with refreshing bluntness: on "Jack," Bueno and Vas sing "You think you're awesome/I think you're boring," and that's really all that needs to be said. Recorded in just two days, the excitement coursing through Mourn's entire 24 minutes (including the bonus track "Boys Are Cunts") makes its funny, scary, pissed-off punk that much more irresistible. ~ Heather Phares


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review