1 800 222 6872

Danny James (Indie Rock): Pear [Digipak]

Track List

>Guantanamo Baby
>Smelling Ghost
>Without Reluctance
>Boomerang Kids
>Dear Heart
>(That's Not) the Plan
>Without Reluctance (Reprise)

Album Notes

Personnel: Danny James (vocals, keyboards); Michael Louis (vocals, guitar, keyboards, drums, percussion); Joel Robinow (guitar, trumpet, background vocals).

Photographer: Ori Korn.

Arranger: Michael Louis.

Best-known for his stint with the Northern California garage punk band the Cuts, Danny James likes to describe his own music as "Larry Graham and Queen on the floor with the Raspberries," and in many respects that just scratches the surface of the eclectic range of sounds and influences on James' first solo album, Pear. James writes songs full of pop hooks and rock & roll muscle, reinforced with tough but funky rhythms that reflect a taste for hip-hop and electronics as well as R&B and funk, and it's all performed in full '70s style, complete with stacked harmonies, shimmering synthesizer lines, and epic-scale guitars. Is this pop with muscles, or hard rock with polish and panache? Pear manages to deliver plenty of both, and a lot more besides. ~ Mark Deming


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review