1 800 222 6872

Mozart: Violin Concerto No. 5; Vieuxtemps: Violin Concerto No. 4 / Hilary Hahn, violin; Paavo Jarvi, Deutsche CO Bremen

Album Summary

>Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus : Concerto for Violin no 5 in A major, K 219 "Turkish"
>Vieuxtemps, Henri : Concerto for Violin no 4 in D minor, Op. 31
Performer Conductor Ensembles Composers

Notes & Reviews:

Gramophone Magazine, April 2015
Järvi and the Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen provide wonderful accompaniments...always finely balanced and expressive...Her Mozart is elegant, stylish and played throughout with beautiful tone...The Vieuxtemps, though, is remarkable, with Hahn playing the role of melodramatic protagonist to perfection; she has a powerful presence and, in the finale, finds a truly heroic tone.

The Times, 27th March 2015 ***
Delight in [Mozart's] invention starts the moment Hahn's violin makes its debut, flying in the sky like a lark. Her nimble charms continue in the graceful adagio...So, a jewel of a concerto; bejewelled playing too...The orchestra's tendency towards weighty pronouncements finds a better home in Vieuxtemps 4.

BBC Music Magazine, April 2015 ****
Hahn takes a Romantic view of Mozart, with bold gestures, a wide dynamic range, and fruity vibrato, especially lower down the instrument...She is more naturally attuned to the Vieuxtemps, where she can pull out the emotional stops, especially in the slow movement and the cadenzas.

The two-time Grammy Award-winning violinist Hilary Hahn combines Mozart's beloved Concerto No. 5 with its fiery Turkish episode with the rich, with the virtuosic romanticism of Vieuxtemps' Violin Concerto No. 4. Hahn first learned both works when she was 10 years old and studied them with her most influential teachers. Recording them for the first time, Hahn is joined by Paavo Järvi and The Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen.

The Guardian, 16th April 2015
Overall her flair for tempering soaring passion with intelligent restraint makes the [Vieuxtemps's] heady romanticism easily digestible. It is coupled with Mozart's A major concerto, to which Hahn brings a distinctive spark. Her first entry pours balm over the crisply agitated orchestral opening.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

Also Purchased

Works Details

>Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus : Concerto for Violin no 5 in A major, K 219 "Turkish"
  • Performer: Hilary Hahn (Violin)
  • Conductor: Järvi Paavo
  • Ensemble: Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen
  • Notes: Kammer-Philharmonie, Bremen (12/04/2012/12/05/2012)
  • Running Time: 29 min. 11 sec.
  • Period Time: Classical
  • Form: Concerto
  • Written: 1775

>Vieuxtemps, Henri : Concerto for Violin no 4 in D minor, Op. 31
  • Performer: Hilary Hahn (Violin)
  • Conductor: Järvi Paavo
  • Notes: Gut Varrel, Stuhr (08/07/2013/08/08/2013)
  • Running Time: 30 min. 36 sec.
  • Period Time: Romantic
  • Form: Concerto
  • Written: circa 1850