1 800 222 6872

Corey Dargel: Ok It's Not Ok

Track List

>There's Nothing There
>Opposite of Love, The
>Do You Have Any Reactions At All
>Until She Doesn't
>Saddest Excuses, The
>On This Date Every Year
>No Feelings Grown-Up Enough
>Slow Down
>Your Discompassionate Arms
>Impression of Me
>I Will Only Get Well
>Your Profound Self-Doubt
>Upside Down
>Surely I Can Rebuild You

Album Remarks & Appraisals:

OK It's Not OK is the fourth studio album from "baroquely unclassifiable" (The New Yorker) composer and "prince of postclassical song" (Time Out New York) Corey Dargel. OK It's Not OK is the follow-up to 2010's lauded double album of chamber pop songs Someone Will Take Care of Me and finds Dargel returning to the world of skittering and buoyant electronics that colored his 2008 release, Other People's Love Songs. The instrumentation on OK It's Not OK embraces classical, rock, and pop idioms equally - with violin, piano, and pure-tone vocals appearing alongside electric guitar, drum machines, and synthesizers. Fans of Dargel will immediately recognize his idiosyncratic style - a combination of Steve Reich's devious grooves, Morrissey's literary wit, and Xiu Xiu's emotional directness - and newcomers will be drawn in by Dargel's indelible and contagious melodies.

Album Notes

Lyricist: Corey Dargel.

Personnel: Corey Dargel (vocals, synthesizer, drum machine); James Moore (acoustic guitar, electric guitar); Cornelius Dufallo (violin, loops); Wil Smith (keyboards); Eleonore Oppenheim (electric bass).

Audio Mixer: Corey Dargel.

Recording information: Still Sound Audio, Brooklyn, NY.

Editor: Corey Dargel.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review