1 800 222 6872

MisterWives: Our Own House [Digipak]

Track List

>Our Own House
>Not Your Way
>Best I Can Do
>No Need for Dreaming
>Box Around the Sun
>Imagination Infatuation

Album Notes

Personnel: Mandy Lee Duffy (vocals, background vocals); Marc Campbell (guitar); Jesse Blum (accordion, trumpet, keyboards); Etienne Bowler (drums, percussion, programming, background vocals); William Hehir (background vocals).

Audio Mixer: Neal Avron.

Photographer: Glynis Carpenter.

Having already built a considerable buzz with their 2014 EP Reflections, New York trio MisterWives launch a full-bore pop assault on their debut LP Our Own House. With its shimmering synths and anthemic, feel-good chorus, "Hurricane" seems tailor-made for any number of rom-com finales or network TV show montages. Changing tack, but with equal amounts of gloss, the title cut is a low-key dancefloor jam with a smattering of '90s-style ska horns. Other tracks, like the chirpy, disco-inspired "Reflections" and the lush, indie folk-pop hymn "Vagabond" (both of which appeared on their earlier EP) show that MisterWives have a firm grasp on the zeitgeist and a rich understanding of modern pop song-building. But, while much of Our Own House might feel like a radio-ready romp through familiar contemporary styles, the band really does have a knack for putting hooks in the right places and delivering a strong, memorable chorus, making this an all-around pleasant debut. ~ Timothy Monger


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review