1 800 222 6872

Badfinger: Say No More

Album Notes

Badfinger: Joey Molland (vocals, guitar); Tom Evans (vocals, bass); Tony Kaye (keyboards); Richard Bryans (drums).

Recorded at International Sound, Miami, Florida in 1980. Includes liner notes by Dan Mantovina.

Originally released in 1982, SAY NO MORE was the final attempt by Badfinger's Joey Molland and Tom Evans to re-launch the seminal band. Stung by the critics who labeled Badfinger's 1979 reunion album AIRWAVES as soft rock, the duo were determined to make an all-out rock album. As a result, there are no acoustic guitars, tinkling pianos or rich harmonies to be found here. Instead, the album kicks off with Molland's "I Got You," a riff-driven, '50s inspired rocker, and doesn't let up until the final track, the ominous, vaguely psychedelic "No More."

While SAY NO MORE is arguably the most energetic album the group ever made, it also boasts several catchy mid-tempo tracks, including the chugging pop rock single "Hold On," the last Badfinger song to reach the American Top 100. In addition to "Hold On," Tom Evans also contributes the gorgeous, R&B-infused "Too Hung Up on You." Featuring instrumental support from two young American musicians and ex-Yes keyboardist Tony Kaye, SAY NO MORE should have put Badfinger back on the road to success. Instead, internal problems and difficulties with the record label led to the band dissolving in late 1982 and Evans' subsequent suicide in 1983.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review