1 800 222 6872

Michael Chapman (Folk): Window [Digipak]

Track List

>Lady On the Rocks/Song For September
>Last Lady Song
>Among The Trees
>An Old Man Remembers
>In the Valley
>First Lady Song
>Scholarly Man, A
>She Came In Like the "6.15" and Made a Hole In the Wall
>Hobo's Lamentation, The
>Never In My Life

Album Notes

Personnel: Michael Chapman (vocals, acoustic guitar); Rick Kemp (vocals, maracas); P. Harold Fatt (guitar); Johnny Van Derek (violin); Alex Atterson (piano); Richie Dharma (drums, tambourine).

Liner Note Author: Andru Chapman.

Recording information: Trident Studios, London, UK.

One of the most understated but spectrally beautiful of all Michael Chapman's albums, Window evidences just why producer Gus Dudgeon was in such demand during the early '70s, as he allows the idiosyncratic Chapman to weave each and every one of his musical moods through the sequence, without the record ever appearing to lose its grip. At the time of release, most attention was on the closing craziness of "She Came in Like the '6:15' and Made a Hole in the Wall," as performed (says the sleeve) by the Massed Voices of the Dean Teagarden Singers, featuring the Screaming Skull, the Bombay Banger, and Arthur Dogg. However, there are equal (if less lunatic) joys to be drawn from the reflective "An Old Man Remembers," while the opening "Lady on the Rocks/Song for September" pairing and the disused bookends of "First Lady Song" and "Last Lady Song" all rate among the young Chapman's most engaging works. [In 2004 BGO reissued Window along with its sequel, Wrecked Again, as a two-CD set.] ~ Dave Thompson


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

See Also

There are no recommendations posted for this product