1 800 222 6872

Bettye LaVette: Child of the Seventies

Track List

>It Ain't Easy
>If I Can't Be Your Woman
>Fortune Teller
>Your Turn to Cry
>Soul Tambourine
>All the Black and White Children
>Our Own Love Song
>Ain't Nothing Gonna Change Me
>Outside Woman
>Stealer, The
>My Love Is Showing
>Waiting for Tomorrow - (previously unreleased)
>Livin' Life on a Shoestring - (previously unreleased)
>Your Turn to Cry [Mono Single Version]
>Soul Tambourine [Mono Single Version]
>Heart of Gold
>You'll Wake Up Wiser
>Here I Am
>You'll Never Change
>My Man-He's a Lovin' Man
>Shut Your Mouth

Album Reviews:

Uncut (p.111) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "Betty Lavette has something of both the gritty intensity of Tina Turner and the raw gospel emotion of Aretha Franklin..."

No Depression (p.120) - "[S]he had a wonderful, powerful, expressive voice....The best tracks here set her loose in full voice, notably on Free's 'The Stealer'."

Album Notes

Audio Remasterer: Dan Hersch.

Liner Note Author: David Nathan .

Bettye LaVette's CHILD OF THE SEVENTIES was recorded in 1973 and intended to be the soul singer's debut album for Atlantic Records. However, after several of LaVette's singles failed to catch chart interest, the completed album was quietly shelved. In 2006, after LaVette's career was reignited by her comeback album, I'VE GOT MY OWN HELL TO RAISE, the archivist reissue label Rhino Handmade took CHILD OF THE SEVENTIES, all eight non-LP tracks from those Atlantic singles, and two previously unreleased outtakes, for a fully loaded 22-track look back at this unjustly ignored slice of Muscle Shoals soul. Packaged and remastered with Rhino Handmade's trademark care, this is an outstanding archival release.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review