1 800 222 6872

Mose Allison: I Don't Worry About a Thing

Album Notes

Personnel: Mose Allison (piano, vocals); Addison Farmer (bass); Osie Johnson (drums).

Recorded in New York on March 15, 1962. Originally released on Atlantic (1389). Includes original release liner notes by Nat Hentoff.

All songs written by Mose Allison except "Let Me See" (Count Basie/Harry Edison), "Everything I Have Is Yours" (Harold Adamson/Burton Lane), "Meet Me At No Special Place" (J. Russell Robinson/Arthur Terker/Harry Pyle), and "The Song Is Ended" (Irving Berlin).

This 1962 album is the sound of the singer/pianist/composer coming fully into his own as an individual stylist. Emerging from the traditionalism of jazz and blues, Allison created an amalgam of the two that also left room for his own unique compositional bent. When Randy Newman was just a pup, Allison was laconically delivering biting, ironic lyrics over his own bluesy piano accompaniment. I DON"T WORRY ABOUT A THING finds his lyrics catching up with his idiosyncratic musical sensibilities.

The title track drops the other shoe when, after singing it's refrain, Mose adds "cause I know nothing's gonna be alright." It's this fatalism, tempered by black humor, that makes him a spiritual forebear of artists like Leonard Cohen and the aforementioned Newman. The ability to whistle through the graveyard also serves him well on the dissapointment catalogue "It Didn't Turn Out That Way." Naturally, Allison's pointedly swinging bop piano style is well represented on such tunes as "Idyll" and "The Well." I DON'T WORRY is also notable for the first appearance of the sarcastic Allison staple "Your Mind is on Vacation."


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review