1 800 222 6872

Thursday: Waiting [15th Anniversary Edition]

Track List

>This Side of Brightness
>Ian Curtis
>Streaks in the Sky
>In Transmission
>Dying in New Brunswick
>Dotted Line, The
>Where the Circle Ends
>This Side of Brightness - (previously unreleased)
>Dying in New Brunswick - (previously unreleased)
>Mass as Shadows - (previously unreleased)

Album Reviews:

CMJ (2/7/00, pp.23-4) - "...The hard-charging riffs will leave you with fresh, raw wounds, which are barely sutured together by vocalist Geoff's unbridled, bellowed lyrics....Youth hasn't sounded this honest for quite a while."

Pitchfork (Website) - "WAITING simply stands as Thursday's most promising and earnest album."

Album Notes

Thursday: Geoff (vocals); Tom, Bill (guitar); Tim (bass); Tucker (drums).

Audio Mixer: Tim Gilles.

Liner Note Author: Thursday.

Recording information: Big Blue Meenie Studios (1998-1999); Mother West Studios (1998-1999); Big Blue Meenie Studios (1999); Mother West Studios (1999).

Photographer: Keri Levin.

Still working on the balance of high drama and hardcore that they eventually perfected on 2001's FULL COLLAPSE, New Jersey`s Thursday nonetheless made a strong impression on their 1999 debut album, WAITING. Moody songs influenced by British post-punk like "In Transmission" and "Where the Circle Ends" contrast nicely with the barn-burning metallic riffing of "Dying in New Brunswick" and "The Dotted Line." When the two poles converge, as on "This Side of Brightness," the band achieves a sweet spot of crunch and melody. They hadn't quite mastered the blend at this point in their careers, but they did get off to a great start.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review