1 800 222 6872

Robben Ford: Into the Sun

Track List

>Rose of Sharon
>Day of the Planets
>Howlin' at the Moon
>Rainbow Cover
>Justified - (featuring Robert Randolph)
>Breath of Me
>High Heels and Throwing Things
>Cause of War
>So Long 4 U
>Same Train
>Stone Cold Heaven - (featuring Tyler Bryant)

Album Notes

Personnel: Robben Ford (vocals, guitar); Jim Cox (piano, organ); Brian Allen (upright bass, electric bass); Wes Little (drums, percussion).

Audio Mixer: Niko Bolas.

Recording information: Colourbox Recording, Ventura, CA; Kingsize Soundlabs, Eagle Rock, CA; Ollywood Studio, Toluca Lake, CA; Rose Lane Studio, Carpinteria, CA; Santa Barbara Sound Design, Santa Barbara, CA; Sound Emporium Studios, Nashville, TN; Tossamo Studio, North Hollywood, CA.

Photographer: Piper Ferguson.

Continuing his latter-day renaissance, Robben Ford widens his palette on Into the Sun. The very title suggests this 2015 album is bright and open, and it is. There's a nice, relaxed groove to this record as Ford plays as much Southern-fried soul and funky jazz as he does blues. All of these sounds intersect at Ford's sweet spot. He's a sly, versatile guitarist who can dip into a variety of styles without seeming like a dilettante, and on Into the Sun, that includes the lazy acoustic opener "Rose of Sharon," which finds its counterpart on "Justified," a backporch blues duet with Keb' Mo'. Other guests are here -- ZZ Ward shines on "Breath of Me," Warren Haynes spars on "High Heels and Throwing Things," Sonny Landreth shows up for "So Long 4 U" -- a sign of Ford's generosity. Then again, this wide array of players fit neatly into Ford's soulful style, which is unified by its love of rhythm & blues -- meaning both the groove and the long, yet unflashy, solos -- and open-hearted vibe. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

See Also

There are no recommendations posted for this product