1 800 222 6872

Rick Wakeman: Rhapsodies

Track List

>Pedra Da Gavea
>Front Line
>Bombay Duck
>Animal Showdown (Yes We Have No Bananas)
>Big Ben
>Rhapsody In Blue
>Wooly Willy Tango
>Pulse, The
>Swan Lager
>March of the Gladiators
>Flacons De Neige
>Flasher, The
>Palais, The
>Sea Horses
>Half Holiday

Album Notes

Personnel: Rick Wakeman (keyboards); Tony Visconti (guitar, acoustic guitar); Nico Ramsden (guitar, electric guitar); Bruce Lynch (bass guitar); Frank Gibson (drums, percussion).

Audio Remasterer: Mike Milchner.

Liner Note Author: Bill Kopp.

Recording information: La Grange Studios, Montreux, Switzerland; Mountain Studios, Montreux, Switzerland.

Photographer: Paul Wakefield.

Most of Wakeman's albums revolve around a concept; this double album's only concept is of a collection of "rhapsodies," which here seems to mean "enthusiastic and improvisational pieces." The album is instrumental except for the opener, "Pedra de Gavea," where the electronically treated vocals are presumably by Wakeman himself. Most of the pieces are concise for Wakeman, and very lively and bright, with engaging lead parts and well-chosen keyboard sounds (something Wakeman has not always managed). "Swan Lager" sets music by Tchaikovsky and Grieg to a reggae beat. Wakeman's version of George Gershwin's "Rhapsody in Blue" is actually a low point, but his version of Gershwin's "Summertime" is nicely done. This was Wakeman's last album for A&M Records. ~ Stephen Raiteri


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

See Also

There are no recommendations posted for this product