1 800 222 6872

Ian Shaw/Ian Shaw (Organ): Drawn to All Things: The Songs of Joni Mitchell

Track List

>Moon at the Window
>Night in the City
>Edith and the Kingpin
>Harlem in Havana
>Case of You, A
>Chelsea Morning
>Love or Money
>Talk to Me
>Night Ride Home
>Both Sides Now
>Stay in Touch

Album Remarks & Appraisals:

Ian Shaw's debut album on Linn Records is a stunning collection of re-workings of classic and lesser-known songs by his personal heroine Joni Mitchell. Originally released in 2006 'Drawn To All Things' has been re-issued as part of Linn's ECHO series which offers a second chance to enjoy the best of the label's award-winning catalogue. To celebrate the landmark birthday of the legendary songwriter, Joni Mitchell, Shaw undertook a tour, 'Joni at 70 - Ian Shaw Sings Joni Mitchell'. It played to New York's 54 Below, Toronto's Old Mill Inn and at the 2013 London Jazz Festival. 'Drawn To All Things' includes three songs which had not previously been recorded by anyone other than Joni; 'Talk to Me', 'Love Or Money' and 'Stay In Touch'. Top jazz vocalists and musicians lend their support; Claire Martin and Lea de Laria on vocals, plus trumpeter Guy Barker and guitarist Jim Mullen. Twice named Best Vocalist at the BBC Jazz Awards, Ian Shaw is one of the UK's finest male jazz vocalists. His exciting, edgy and provocative style has made him a popular name both at home and in the States.

Album Reviews:

JazzTimes (p.108) - "[W]ith the bracing blend of Mark Murphy smarts, Johnny Hartman smoothness and Mel Torme bravado, Shaw sticks primarily to the Mitchell road less traveled..."

Mojo (Publisher) (p.98) - 4 stars out of 5 -- "An emotional, expressive interpreter with the ability to explore every aspect of both lyric and melody."

Album Notes

Tributee: Joni Mitchell.

Tributee: Joni Mitchell.

Personnel: Ian Shaw (vocals, piano, electric piano); Frances Andrade, Andrew Haveron (violin); Levine Andrade (viola); Bozidar Vukotic (cello); Nigel Hitchcock (saxophone); Guy Barker (trumpet); Richard Cottle (keyboards); Mark Fletcher (drums); Miles Bould (percussion).

Audio Mixers: John Gallen; Richard Cottle.

Liner Note Author: Ian Shaw .

Recording information: Bunker Studios, Hertfordshire, UK (11/23/2005-11/30/2005).

Arranger: Ian Shaw .


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review