1 800 222 6872

Red Hot Chili Peppers: The Red Hot Chili Peppers

Album Notes

Red Hot Chili Peppers: Anthony Keidis (vocals); Jack Sherman (guitar); Flea (bass); Cliff Martinez (drums).

Additional personnel: Keith Barry (viola); Kenny Flood (tenor saxophone); Patrick English (trumpet); Phil Ranelin (trombone); Cliff Brooks (timbales, congas); Gwen Dickey (background vocals).

Recorded at El Dorado, Los Angeles, California. Includes liner notes by Flea.

All tracks have been digitally remastered using 24 Bit Technology.

The Red Hot Chili Peppers' 1984 self-titled debut may not have been as stellar as future releases would be (UPLIFT MOFO PARTY PLAN, MOTHER'S MILK, etc.), but the band's intoxicating punk-funk proved to be a breath of fresh air in an otherwise stagnant rock scene. Original members Hillel Slovak (guitar) and Jack Irons (drums) bowed out just prior to the recording of the debut (they'd return for the next release, 1985's FREAKY STYLEY), as fill-ins Jack Sherman and Cliff Martinez joined singer Anthony Kiedis and bassist Flea. The album-opening "True Men Don't Kill Coyotes" was the band's first video to appear on MTV, while "Get Up and Jump" has proven to be a perennial concert staple. Other highlights include "Green Heaven," "Out in L.A.," and "Police Helicopter."


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review

See Also

There are no recommendations posted for this product