1 800 222 6872

America: Homecoming [SACD]

Track List

>Ventura Highway
>To Each His Own
>Don't Cross The River
>Moon Song
>Only In Your Heart
>Till The Sun Comes Up Again
>Cornwall Blank
>Head And Heart
>California Revisited
>Saturn Nights

Album Notes

America: Dewey Bunnell (vocals, guitar, percussion); Dan Peek (vocals, guitar); Gerry Beckley (vocals, bass).

Additional personnel: Henry Diltz (banjo); Joe Osbourne (bass); Hal Blaine, Gary Mallaber (drums, percussion).

Digitally remastered by Lee Herschberg.

Personnel: America (guitars, piano); Henry Diltz (banjo); Hal Blaine (drums, percussion).

Photographer: Henry Diltz.

Arguably the best album they ever made, America's sophomore effort is certainly the most varied. Though the overall sound is still dominated by folk-style strummed guitars, there's quite a bit of extra instrumentation--electric and acoustic pianos, banjos, and, in the almost rocked-out "Cornwall Blank," actual electric guitars for a change. The band's musical palate is also expanded, as seen by "Don't Cross the River," an overt foray into country-rock territory that wouldn't have sounded out of place on the Eagles' contemporaneous debut album.

Throughout, the boyish Crosby, Stills and Nash-style harmonies are exceptionally inventive, and the group's songwriting finally moves beyond their influences. The big hit here, "Ventura Highway," is far more musically and lyrically sophisticated than anything on their debut.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review