1 800 222 6872

Tower of Power: Bump City

Album Notes

Tower Of Power: Willie James Fulton (vocals, guitar); Skip Mesquite (vocals, tenor saxophone, flute); Emilio Castillo (vocals, tenor saxophone); Stephen Kupka (vocals, baritone saxophone); Greg Adams (vocals, trumpet, flugelhorn, french horn, piano); Mic Gillette (vocals, trumpet, trombone, french horn); Brent Byars (vocals, conga drums); Rick Stevens (vocals); Francis Rocco Prestia (bass); David Garabaldi (drums).

Additonal personnel includes: Jay Spell (piano, organ); The Memphis Strings.

Recorded at TMI Sound Studios, Memphis, Tennessee.

Funk masters Tower Of Power's tight, funky sound is in high gear on BUMP CITY, one of the group's strongest efforts. Containing several TOP hits, including concert favorite "You Got To Funkifize" and the classic "Down To The Nightclub," this is one of the best examples of Oakland's favorite sons in their stride. Other cuts, like the down-and-dirty "You Strike My Main Nerve" and the bluesy shuffle "Flash In The Pan," couple the funky power of the original Prestia-Garibaldi rhythm team with those signature TOP horns.

Singer Rick Stevens also shines on such ballads as "What Happened To The World That Day" and the moving hit "You're Still A Young Man," yet another classic from the group's early days. In all, BUMP CITY is guaranteed to funk you into bad health and make you crave that Oakland stroke more than ever.


There are currently no reviews, be the first one!
Login or Create an Account to write a review